Daily Prompt: Stroke of Midnight

Where were you last night when 2012 turned into 2013? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/daily-post-midnight/

At the stroke of midnight I was in in the back of the Hanger, close to the restrooms and bar, of Lights All Night Dallas, TX with my friend Nick. Was this where I wanted to be? I have three different answers depending on how I choose to answer this question, so I’ll address them all!

Yes, I wanted to be in the back of the Hanger because the front was where the stage was. Nero was on stage and, like at most concerts, people were pushing and shoving to get as close to the stage as possible. The music is louder, the lights are brighter, and the bass vibrates better from the ground and air close to the stage. It is much more humid and also uncomfortably hot closer to the stage because of all the moving and dancing bodies generating heat. People up here don’t mind being bumped into or pushed around by people trying to get closer in or by people trying to get out of the compacted crowd. I do; so I tend to stay in the back – the far back. I like to have space around me to move freely. I also like to breath in cool fresh air. I know it sounds like I have a major chip on my shoulder, but this is how I was made. It can’t be helped. I like my personal space and don’t care so much to have people invading it!

On the other hand, I wasn’t with my husband so I wasn’t where I wanted to be when 2012 turned into 2013. Chae likes being close to the stage and so does my friend Petey. They stayed close to the stage while Nick and I walked to the back. I needed air and Nick’s legs were tired from the first two days of the concert (I had only gone one other day with my husband). Nick is great company, but it was a little awkward for me to not give Chae a kiss at the stroke of midnight! On the bright side, at least I had Nick to give me a high-five when midnight hit! Chae eventually found me… 15 minutes after and we had our first kiss of the New Year!

So the third answer to this prompt is that I wasn’t where I wanted to be because I was at an EDM concert instead of at home having a quiet evening with my hubby. Ideally I’d be snuggled up on the couch watching a movie or the ball drop in Time Square on TV. I’ve noticed that I get into MAJOR hermit mode during the winter seasons. I like to hibernate when it gets cold outside! However, overall the experience was great and I had a wonderful time with my hubby and a couple of friends. So it all worked out in the end!

Daily Prompt: Stroke of Midnight.