Christmas Mouse

For my younger sister’s birthday, I made her this adorable little mouse!

ChristmasMouse_01

ChristmasMouse_02

ChristmasMouse_03

The mouse’s tail had broken off during baking. So did it’s “waving” hand. I had to do the same thing I did with the tiger’s ear to get it to bake in the right place. I used a bit of liquid polyclay to reattach the broken pieces. This wasn’t an easy process since I had to hold it in place while it was semi-baking. It got pretty hot! ;P

I skipped glazing with Kato Liquid Polyclay with this mouse. It was too messy with the tiger and I didn’t want to go through all of that again. Although, it probably would have been fine if I glazed it after I baked it and then re-baked it for the glaze to cure… but I didn’t think about that until I had finished glazing it with the polyurethane.

I notice that the tiger came out shinier because of the liquid polyclay. I dipped the mouse in the Polyurethane Gloss finish twice hoping that it’ll make it shinier, but it didn’t.

So, a few more lessons learned from this project!

ChristmasMouseTiger

2 thoughts on “Christmas Mouse

  1. Interestingly enough, I like it more with less shine on it. Probably because in my mind they’re furry so the hair wouldn’t be as shiny? I think the mouse turned out nice!

Leave a Reply

