Christmas White Tiger

My eldest sister and my youngest sister both celebrated their birthday this week and I had decided to make them a Christmas ornament for their present. This white tiger was given to my eldest sister because of her Chinese Zodiac.

ChristmasWhiteTiger_01

ChristmasWhiteTiger_02

ChristmasWhiteTiger_03

This White Tiger was MUCH harder to execute than I had planned for. When I sketched it, I had only sketched the front side. When I started to sculpt it, I realized that I had no idea how I wanted to do the back side! So… I had to improvise.

IMG_3568[1]

I read that Kato Liquid Polyclay makes for a nice shiny gloss glaze so I decided to try it out. I applied it using a brush. When I was done, the left ear kept sliding off the side of the head! No matter how hard I tried to keep it in place, the side of the head was too slippery from the liquid polyclay. I don’t know what happened, but I eventually got it to stay in place and baked it. So, note to self: Apply Kato Liquid Polyclay AFTER baking and then re-bake for about 15 minutes after the liquid polyclay has been applied.

When the timer went off to signal that baking was done, I had found the tiger’s left ear had baked onto it’s body. The ear had slid down the side of the tiger during baking!! I had to pry it off and re-attach it with Kato liquid polyclay. It kept sliding off regardless so I held the ear in place inside the oven until it was stopped sliding. It was a nightmare! Luckily, the ear stayed in place during this last round of baking.

Afterwards, I glazed it using Rust-Oleum Varathan Polyurethane Gloss Glaze/Finish because it wasn’t as shiny as I had wanted.

IMG_3569[1]

Overall, I’m happy enough with how this turned out. I learned a great deal from this one!

2 thoughts on “Christmas White Tiger

  1. Dang, it turned out so nice! Did you make the eyes too?? I feel like you’re getting a lot better at this very quickly Lol

    Your sketches vary a lot, I like being able to see the thought process πŸ˜€

    • Yes, I made the eyes out of clay ;P I could have painted it on, but where is the fun in that?! Actually, making the eyes out of clay was extremely difficult. I might start painting them here on out!

      The sketches are crucial to my planning! It’s the only way I’ll be able to get anything done in a timely manner. If you play with the clay too much, it cracks during baking.

Leave a Reply

