Sculpey!

I wanted to post this with the aquarium post, but it really deserves to belong in a post of it’s own! Michaels (craft store) had a pretty nice sale on polymer modeling clay a few weeks ago and I took full advantage of it. $1 for 2 ounce packets! I bought a ton of Premo! Sculpey, as you might have noticed in a previous photography post, in a variety of colors. I plan on using the Sculpey to create cute decorations and ornaments for our aquarium since it’s non-toxic.

IMG_3236

I made these a few weeks ago and they’re already in the tank. I’m thinking that they’ll probably look a lot nicer if I had put a nice glossy finish on them but I haven’t been able to confirm if the glossy finish is aquarium safe. So for now, no gloss for them!

The next project I’ve been working on area mushrooms. They’re much harder to do than I thought they would be, but mostly because I’m working with red and white clay. I learned that Sculpey is EXTREMELY hard to get off your hands. So, if I’m working with red clay and want to attach it to the white clay, I’m gonna get red on the white clay. I’m reading that rubbing a small amount of oil on my hands and then washing it off with ordinary soap will get it off. Ain’t nobody got time for that!! Haha, just kidding. I’l be more mindful about working with the white clay before working with red in the future and then thoroughly cleaning my hands before touching the white again. It shouldn’t be too bad, but it does sound like quite a pain!

sculpey_kit

mushrooms

I’m going to add a base to these mushrooms because it’ll make it much easier to decorate with in the aquarium. I’ll update more later when I get more done πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Sculpey!

Leave a Reply

