Aperture and Shutter Speed

I tend to get a little obsessive when I find something I’m interested in. I have this need to abusive it until I’m SICK of it. So, as per my usual, I’ve been obsessive about the aquarium the past week; lots of researching, aquascape brainstorming, and of course, lots of shopping. To make my vision come to life, I knew I was gonna have to create the little details on my own, but I wasn’t sure how. I wasn’t sure what would be safe for my future goldfishes. My research lead me to polymer clay. There aren’t any concrete evidence that it’s safe to put in an aquarium, but others have done this and their fish are fine. Lucky for me, I coincidentally stumbled upon a MEGA clay sale! This HAS to be a sign, right?

I wanted to dive right in and start sculpting my pieces, but then realized that I’ve been obsessing over the aquarium a little too much lately. The chances of me burning out are high when I obsess too long on one thing. So, I felt it might do me some good to take a little break from the aquarium. I knew that I needed to refocus a little on some of my other interests, such as photography. I decided to work on my photography project to get me re-familiarized with the basics. It was a fun little project that took much longer than I had anticipated. I guess I am a little rusty after all!

Testing out F-Stops. I decided to make good use out of my Sculpey! What you’ll notice is that, at wider apertures (f/4), your depth and field will be more shallow verse when your aperture is smaller (f/22). So for this set of photos, don’t concentrate on the clay, but the bird in the back! As the f-stops get smaller (f/22), the clearer the bird gets! I know there is suppose to be a “break point” somewhere, but I didn’t notice it. I’m using the term “break point” because I don’t know what the correct word would be, lol, but what I’m referring to is how, once you hit a certain f-stop, going any smaller would cause some blur. Meaning, f/8 could produce a clearer photo than f/22. I don’t quite get it so I’m not going to get into it, but thought it was only right that you all should know that this happens! I’ll have to do more research on it, but probably later when I’m a little more comfortable with photography again 🙂 So, for this set of photos, I had my camera set to aperture priority mode and changed the aperture in each photo.

ISO 400

  • f/4 for 0.6 sec.
  • f/5.6 for 1.3 secs
  • f/8 for 4 secs
  • f/11 for 6 secs
  • f/16 for 10 secs
  • f/22 for 20 secs

IMG_9705

IMG_9706

IMG_9707

IMG_9708

IMG_9709

IMG_9710

If aperture gets wider (going from f/22 to f/4) and shutter speeds stays the same, you’ll have blown out photos because too much light is coming in. If aperture gets smaller but shutter speeds stays the same, your photos will get darker. You need to find a nice balance between apertures and shutter speeds to get a perfectly exposed photo!

Untitled-1

I really wish I had better light to work with. The photos are still pretty grainy even with ISO 400. I wonder if it’s because there wasn’t much light? Ooooo! Looking at the close up of the photos, I see that it started getting more grainy after f/8. Maybe this has a lot to do with that break point thing I had mentioned earlier! Hey, that’s neat haha I guess I learned something after all!

The first photo was taken at 1/3 sec., the second photo is shot at 1/125 sec., and the third with the fastest shutter speed at 1/250 sec. You can see how the water slowed down. It’s pretty neat! You can do some pretty cool tricks with this which I plan on doing once I get better lighting set up 🙂

Ok, the last thing I tested was shutter speeds. The faster the shutter speed, the clearer you’ll be able to capture motion without blur. Here are three photos to show you what I mean!

IMG_9737

IMG_9738

IMG_9743

Ok, that’s enough learning today ;P I hope something I said was helpful!

Good night!

Leave a Reply

