Trifecta Week 60: Idle

I am watching him sleep peacefully in the hospital bed. Oxygen tubes inserted in his nose, an IV stuck in his arm, and wires from his chest hooked to a monitor kept in the front pocket of his bluish green hospital gown. I remember the strong hand that would grab me by the ear when I was disobedient and the athleticism he showed when he used to play Koosh Ball with us as kids. Most of my memories are from when I was younger and spent a great deal of time being around him. He mostly kept to himself, sitting in the corner quietly muttering to himself, but his presence is always known. Even now with him sleeping in the hospital bed, his presence exerts itself at me.

My grandpa’s presence is strong and it demands respect, honor, and obedience. As kids, my siblings, cousins, and I often scurried around him because we were afraid we would be caught doing something we weren’t supposed to. We were always on our best behavior when he was around. It was just a given fact that you are good around Grandpa. The lines of right and wrong were always blurry to us. Is it wrong to grab a cookie from the cookie jar right before dinner if we really wanted to? We most certainly didn’t think so!

I watch him quietly in the corner of the room the way he used to watch us. For the first time in my life, I’m attempting to put myself in his shoes. I am attempting to understand what he might have thought of all those years while watching over us as we indulged in childhood laughter. I wonder if he realizes how much his presence affected us as children and help us grow into purposeful and functioning adults. I wonder if he notices my presence and if my idle state has any effect on him. I quietly pray for his health to improve and realize our roles have switched.

Trifecta: Week Sixty: Idle

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone!! Please join us.
IDLE (adjective)

1
: lacking worth or basis : vain <idle chatter> <idle pleasure>
2
not occupied or employed: as
a : having no employment : inactive <idle workers>
b : not turned to normal or appropriate use <idle farmland>
c : not scheduled to compete <the team will be idletomorrow>
3
b : having no evident lawful means of support

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/idle

22 thoughts on “Trifecta Week 60: Idle

  1. Nothing quite so difficult as watching the passing of time in our loved ones. Their strength exchanged for frailties and memories of them can be overwhelming. You’ve written a lovely tribute to your Grandpa. Visiting from Trifecta.

    • The circle of life… I try to remember how I saw things when I was younger frequently to help keep those childhood dreams, innocence and naive thoughts, fresh. I believe this is the secret to a happier life 🙂 Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment, it’s much appreciated

  2. Must have been hard writing this.Our grandparents form such an important part of our lives though I was not that lucky but I saw my own parents interact with my daughter & it was such a beautiful relationship.We learn so much without even realising it-what a touching story from you Kim.

  3. Yesterday, I had a dream that you and your brother made a set of stop motion animations with clay, featuring your grandpa doing fighting moves. I’ll keep him in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

