Daily Prompt: Polite Company

“It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/daily-prompt-polite-company/

Disagree. I know for most people discussing controversial topics are a big “no-no”, but if one person, if not both, are open-minded, these types of discussions are a great way to grow and learn about people different from yourself. It’s hard to steer a conversation from ignorant and senseless arguing if there are too many people involved, but on a one-to-one scenario, it’s doable. I realize that people often forget that not everyone thinks and act the same. We are all different. We may agree on some things and not on others. What is right for me isn’t necessarily right for you. I have seen too often that people confuse right and wrong with popular and unpopular. These two are NOT the same!

For me, I like to listen to other people’s views on politics and religion. I like to challenge their beliefs so they could develop a stronger point. Many people mistake this as me arguing or trying to point out that they’re “wrong”. Like I said, I don’t think anyone is wrong — they’re absolutely right as it applies to them. If you’re not up for a good challenge, then what are you doing with your life? Challenges is what makes the world go round!

Listening to different viewpoints could teach you something new or help you see a situation in a different light. I could be shown a different way of seeing things that I wouldn’t have materialized on my own. I don’t necessarily always agree with what I hear, but I can respect that these thoughts are unique to the person I am speaking to. Their experiences and their upbringing has caused them to think and feel a certain way about politics and religion. Who am I to say they are wrong or right? I just know I can agree or disagree and that’s about as far as I take it. If I’m asked for my own viewpoints I will gladly give them, but I never expect the other party to agree. I expect respect. I always try to respect others so I demand respect in return.

This is as far as I will go in regards to this prompt, thanks for listening 🙂

Daily Post: Polite Company.

Leave a Reply

