Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life

book-bonsai

If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

Thanks for the great idea, Tom!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/daily-prompt-your-life/

Absolutely not! If I read it and everything is exactly as I would want it (the good and bad), I might accidentally do something to screw it all up. I know I would waste time mourning over what should have been, regretting. What a terrible way to live life, Knowing you had health and wealth but somehow transformed it into disease and poverty?

I am able to appreciate the life I have now because tomorrow is unknown. The future might be grim so I want to enjoy the good in my life while it last. I’m not one of those people who says, “If I had known this was going to happen, I would have been nicer, friendlier, more helpful, etc.” I do my best to live every day in the moment and make sure those close to me know how much I love and care for them. I let them know how much I appreciate them.

Also knowing my future would be a great burden on me. If I know that something bad is going to happen, I am burden with the task to try and prevent it. I’ll be living every day trying to “fix” the future instead of enjoying the present. This would be a horrible way to live life. I guess I’m not willing to sacrifice my happiness. I am selfish.

Knowing when and how I am going to die is also reason enough as to why I wouldn’t want to read a book that contains all the events in my life – past, present, and future. I shutter at the thought of knowing about my last breath — even if I die a fast and painless death. The idea of being non-existing frightens me. Death scares me. It’s my greatest fear.

Although, it would be very interesting if the book also covers what happens after I pass on. That’s one area I would be extremely curious about. Do we continue to exist after our physical life ends? Is their a spiritual life? However, my curiosity about the afterlife is not strong enough to make me want to read the book.

Speaking of books, I just finished “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn and completed some discussion questions for it. Feel free to check it out Gone Girl – Reading Discussion.

Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: This Is Your Life

  1. Pingback: IN REMEMBRANCE OF SANDY HOOK ELEMENTARY « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Caution: contents contain your life. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

