Daily Prompt: Call Me Ishmael

Running Away

“I see my blanket, pillow, and my pink Adidas duffle bag with the bare essentials in it.” (via Instagram)

Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/05/daily-prompt-favorite-book/

“It was a dark and stormy night.” – A Wrinkle in Time by Madaleine L’Engle

It was a dark and stormy night. I’m sitting in my car looking out at my mother’s house. Should I stay or should I leave? I turn to look at the back seat. I see my blanket, pillow, and my pink Adidas duffle bag with the bare essentials in it. I was sure to pack my face wash, tooth brush, tooth paste, face powder, powder brush, eyeliner, eye make-up remover, several undergarments, a pair of jeans, a couple of shirts, and my PJs. If I sit here any longer she might come out and yell at me to get back into the house, although I highly doubt it. She would call if she really wanted me to come back. That was a big “if”.

I put the car in reverse and decide it is best to find a different spot to plan my next step. I did not want to show her any signs of hesitation. I still have my dignity to uphold. I am not in wrong this time, she is and she needs to acknowledge it. An apology? I knew that was never going to happen. Maybe I’ll just accept she is admitting she is wrong if she asked me to come back. I think that would be good enough.

I drive into the parking lot of the neighborhood playground. It is two blocks from her house and she would not be able to see me here without me seeing her first if she decides to drive out to look for me. Which, again, I highly doubt would happen. My mother is a proud woman. Or rather, she probably think it is pointless to go looking for me. “She’ll eventually come back when she realize there is no where else for her to go but home,” I imagine her thinking to herself. I grunt in disgust. I hate when she is right. I can not let her be right this time!

I listen to the rain knocking on my car window. It makes different sound there than when it hits the metal hood and the metal roof. *dink dink dink* *dunk dunk dunk* *splat splat* The different rain sounds mesmerizes me. I forget for a moment that I am currently homeless with no where to go. I turn and look at the back seat again. Maybe I could sleep here tonight. What happens in the morning though? Where would I go to wash my face and brush my teeth? I think about how much money I had in my bank account and how much credit is left on my credit cards. Fifty and some change in my debit card and maybe a few hundred left on my credit card. This will last me a few days on my own. Maybe I should stay at a motel. The thought of spending my limited funds on a motel makes my face cringe. I need to spread my money out as thinly as possible so that I could last longer on my own. I do not know how long it will take her to crack.

I let out a sigh and look out at the rain. In the distance I saw a faint flash of light. I wait to hear the thunder’s crackle, but it never came. I scroll through my phone’s contacts. “No, they don’t know me well enough. No, I don’t want her knowing what’s going on. No, no, no…” I continue to scroll. I get to the end of my list and realize there was no where to go. Everyone is either someone I wasn’t close to or someone I didn’t want to know my situation. I decide to scroll through the list again. “Come on, be less picky and swallow some pride. It’ll be worse sleeping in your car like a homeless person and risking the ‘neighborhood watch’ knocking on your window in the morning asking you what you’re doing here. Can’t you get a ticket for being homeless?” I wonder. I let out another distraught sigh.

I put the car in reverse and decide to go home. I was not the one wrong so why am I being punished? I am going to go home and let her know she can’t get to me. With my head held high and my tail NOT between my legs, I grab my belongings and march right back into my mother’s house. This is MY home, too.

* * * * * * * * * *

I read “A Wrinkle in Time” in the fifth grade and I remember being taken on an adventure and journey to a far away land. The land and scenery was unknown and the creatures were mysterious and amazing! I wanted to know more about the land and it’s inhabitants, or rather, I wanted to SEE more of it. Although I don’t entirely remember the plot or characters, I remember quite vividly the pictures captured in my mind. I’ve been meaning to read the book again as an adult but I have not gotten around to it. I guess I need to add that to my bucket list?

So for this prompt, I decided to recapture a time in my life where it was a “dark and stormy night.” I just closed my eyes and picked the first memory that came to mind. I love listening to the rain so because of it, I was able to recall this memory quite vividly. Also because it didn’t happen TOO long ago. I would say probably 7-8 years ago? I hope you enjoyed the little peek into my past 🙂

Oh and as for the photo, luckily I still have all the items from when I was still living at home! I just grabbed them, arranged them in the back seat of my car, hopped into the front seat, turned around, and took this shot. It was actually pretty quick and easy… as are most of my shots for my blogs.

Daily Prompt: Call Me Ishmael.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Call Me Ishmael

Leave a Reply

