Trif-EXTRA Week 49: Core, Mantle, Crust

Trif-EXTRA Week 49

Life and Earth – one in the same
Skin, muscles, heart / crust, mantle, core
Outer shell – container,
Middle layer – strength and structure,
And encompassed in it all
The foundation of what and who we are.

Trif-EXTRA: Week Forty-Nine
As you’ll recall from your elementary science class days, the structure of the Earth can be divided most simply into three sections: core, mantle, crust.

Give us 33 words from it. Interpret the prompt however you wish–literal, metaphorical, or somewhere in between. If you would like to use the image on your own blog, you must properly credit it.

I love it when I get a prompt or challenge I’m not excited about but am able to create something I’m extremely pleased with! I guess this is why challenges are so fun!

When I started, I was extremely put off by the small margin of creativity that can be pulled from Earth – Crust, Mantle, Core. I mean, I LOVE Science and I know there is definitely room for creativity especially in painting and possibly crafting… but for a 33 word writing piece? “IMPOSSIBLE!” I had told myself.

Luckily, I read a very interesting article yesterday “Be Careful Who You Listen To” by Shelli Johnson.Β It reminded me that I am my worst enemy. So, I hunkered down and gave this challenge my best effort and when I put my mind to it, I was able to create something. Isn’t that wonderful? The mind is truly an interesting place! I hope to explore mine more through these Trifecta challenges! I’m having so much fun with these challenges and I thank them so much for providing fun and interesting topics week after week (even though it’s only been a couple of weeks for me, haha). I highly recommend checking out their challenges. A new one goes up every Monday and Friday. You can find their link at the top of my page in the menu or here: http://trifectawritingchallenge.com

Trifextra: Week Forty-Nine.

23 thoughts on “Trif-EXTRA Week 49: Core, Mantle, Crust

    • Thank you! I had a little bit of trouble earlier commenting on your post because I couldn’t get the “human test” right =/ Just got it to work though, yay! Thanks for stopping by, I really appreciate you taking the time to comment πŸ™‚

  1. Love how your post drew a picture in my mind of the crust, mantle, and core and how you gave it meaning. Keep up the good writing!

    • Thank you! I was trying to think what I had around the house that would make a good photo for this prompt! I was praying so hard there were apples left in the fridge AND!!! to my joy there was ONE apple left! Yay πŸ™‚ haha

  2. I’m glad you persevered. You should be proud of this – it turned out great! When I first read the prompt, I didn’t think I’d do it. Then, while I was trying to concentrate on work, the idea formed. Prompts are funny like that πŸ™‚

    Oh, I like the apple photo, too.

  3. Isn’t that interesting the way the mind works. I’ve often seen a prompt and thought there no way I’m EVER going to think of anything. But then I always do. You did well on this one!! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you! I think it gets a little easier the more you exercise those creative muscles! Haha it makes me excited when I notice a difference in my thought process πŸ™‚ Thanks again for taking the time to read and comment!

Leave a Reply

