Trifecta Week 58: Survive

tumblr_mg2cz0Vx0U1rohhgjo1_500(Untitled)

I open my Calculus book to the homework page. With a pencil in my hand, a clean sheet of paper in front of me, and an eraser to the side for all those inevitable mistakes. I stare at the page for ten minutes before realizing I could not concentrate. All I could think of is Evan and how I’m missing out on good quality time with him. My decision to study in lieu of chess club is now weighing heavily on my mind.

“I’m going to skip practice today. I’ve got a ton of homework to finish so I’m gonna get started on it,” I tell Evan regretfully as I hurry towards Amy who is waiting for me. I turn back around and shout, “Try not to get your king eaten by a pawn again!” He had carelessly trapped his king last practice and was checkmated after the queening of White’s pawn. It would have been extremely embarrassing if we weren’t all newbies, but it is still fun to tease him about it.

He smiles at me, shrugs his shoulders and raises his gorgeous brown eyebrows. Those hazel green eyes make my heart sink when I realize I am walking away from him. I quickly turn back around towards Amy. “It’s OK Carly,” I tell myself, “You’ll see him in class tomorrow. You can survive another afternoon without him.”

I met Evan at the beginning of the semester last month in Chemistry class, but did not notice him until I joined chess club a week later. There is not much to his physique, but the more I got to know him, the better he started to look. Four weeks later, I can hear the pounding of my heart and feel my palms getting sweaty when I think of him. Sometimes I wonder if I am going to faint, but that might be from forgetting to breath due to Evan occupying all of my thoughts.

Enough of Evan! Time to get serious about Calculus!

Trifecta: Week Fifty-Eight: Survive

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone!! Please join us.
SURVIVE (verb)

1
a : to remain alive after the death of <he is survived by his wife>
2
a : to continue to exist or live after <survived the earthquake>
3
a : to continue to function or prosper despite : withstand <they survived many hardships>

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/survive

When I first started brainstorming for this challenge on Monday, I had a bunch of ideas. I could write about the loss of a loved one, the struggle with money, problems with addiction, being betrayed, abandonment, neglect… this list literally goes on and on! There is so much I’ve survived through, how hard can it be to write a piece using the word survive, right?

When I sat down to write, I started to write a story about abuse inspired by a recent Korean Drama I had watched. Carly would be sitting at her desk doing homework and get frightened when she hears the front door slam shut. Her dad was home.

I was excited. This was going to be a GREAT story. I decided to add a little bit of “good” before incorporating the “bad” and that’s when I created Evan in my head. Carly would say “bye” to Evan having a bittersweet moment before having to head home and face Dad. Then I thought, “Why would she go home to do homework if she knows she’s going to get beat?  She wouldn’t be able to get any homework done!” So the story just didn’t feel right, felt like it was missing to much important information and I couldn’t figure out a way to “fix” it to my liking, so I had decided to change it to someone breaking into the home while she was doing homework at home. This was inspired to an incident my husband and I had encountered. I could pull the thoughts and feelings from my experience for this piece.

I was excited! Again! Nothing would make a greater story than one you can relate to. However, before I even started to write it, I thought about how the story would transpire. She’d be able to hide and hear the chaos around her while the home was ransacked for treasures and goods. She’d “survive” the incident. Then I realized, I’ll be using the wrong definition of survive if I use it like this. Although being robbed is a hardship, the context I was using the word as “continue to live or exist after” being robbed. I was disappointed.

The only way I would be able to use the word survive, I thought, is if I told the story of how things were AFTER a traumatic event. The character would have to have been able to pick themselves up after having a low period. The more and more I thought about it, the more I didn’t want to write about it. I had almost thought about skipping this challenge because… it was too challenging! HA!

Luckily, while in bed last night, I had an epiphany! Carly could “survive” through homework! When you’re a teenager in high school, school work and exams ARE hardships, so why not?? The line that I had in mind before I drifted into deep slumber was, “I’ll be able to hang out freely with Evan if I can just survive through this homework.” I had the work now, play later mentality going on in my head last night. So, first chance I had today, I constructed this piece. With last nights thoughts in my mind, this piece flowed freely out onto paper. I hope I used the word, survive, correctly. Please advise me if I had not!

I was more concerned with the verb tense in this piece. I had a really hard time keeping everything present tense and knowing when it was appropriate to use past tense. So, if possible, if you see any of these mistakes made, PLEASE point them out so I could learn from it! I’d greatly appreciate it!

As always, I hope you all enjoyed my submission for this challenge and also the peek into my thoughts while constructing the piece 🙂

Trifextra: Week Fifty Eight.

18 thoughts on “Trifecta Week 58: Survive

    • Thank you! I think I half do it for myself! Sometimes I forget how I get to the conclusion that I do so it’s always fun to read back and go, “Ah ha! So that’s how that happened!” 🙂

    • I was always really good with math (algebra, calculus, geometry, trigonometry, etc), but for some reason, I could NEVER understand physics! After 2 tries at my university, I ended up having to take it at a community college just so I could get a passing grade! Thanks for reading 🙂

  1. Very cutely told-you are right,for a teenager “homework” is something they have to survive & given that one’s heart may be somersaulting & nosediving at one and the same time,it definitely is a huge feat:-)Liked this!

  2. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Trifecta Week 62: Mouth | Thump Thump Goes My Heart

Leave a Reply

