Trif-EXTRA Week 48: Exorcise A Demon

Need and greed is all I see
Anger and spite devours life
Rid these demons inside me
Rascals are causing me strife
A good read, some herbal tea
This could be my remedy.

Trif-EXTRA: Week Forty-Eight

“I feel I’m able to get rid of any demons lurking in my psyche through my writing, which leaves me free to create all of this and to enjoy our family life, stepping away from all the fictional traumas and the dramas. If I write about family in crisis, then I won’t have to live through it, I guess.” – Jodi Picoult

This weekend we’re asking for 33 of your own words that exorcise a demon. One of your own, or one from your imagination. Let it bleed on the page.

I sat at my desk and closed my eyes. I looked within for aspects of myself or my life that I was unhappy with. It didn’t take long or much for me to recognize the demon inside. I still have a lot of anger inside of me from the wrongs that has been done to me. I’m still very spiteful no matter how hard I have tried to make peace with it.

“Just forgive and move on. Holding on to the anger hurts no one more that yourself,” is what I keep telling myself. I’ve done many things this year to try and better myself thinking it will help me heal and let go of the anger (yoga, belly dancing, camping, drinking, painting, writing, etc.). I believe it has helped but it hasn’t been enough.

I still have this need and greed to get revenge even though I believe in karma. I want to hurt them as they have hurt me. No matter how wrong I know it is and how much it goes against my own morals, this demon inside keeps rearing its ugly head. Luckily I have been good at keeping it at bay and not letting it act out, but I’m afraid that as long as it exists, there will always be danger of it running lose. It needs to be exorcised!

For the writing aspect, I was aiming for poetic forms in my previous Trifecta Challenges, but realized I that I kept straying off into something else. By the end, I realized I’m left with a hot mess of words splattered on an unkempt canvas. Sometimes it doesn’t turn out too bad, but is inevitably forgettable. So, for the weekend challenge, I decided to brush up on my poetry knowledge. It’s amazing how much I have forgotten since high school (our ten year reunion just came up a few months ago)! I was really wanting to create a sonnet but realized it would not be possible with 33 words… well, not for me.

I started off by writing down words and thoughts as it came to me. I figured I’d unload what was in my head and see what I had to work with. So on a blank canvas, these were the first words that came out of my mind… I was quite impressed:

Need and greed is all I see
Anger and spite, rules my life
Rid these demons inside me
A good read and some tea
Could be my remedy

It ALMOST seems like a complete poem. Kind of like a diamond that still needed to be polished and cut. So from this, I realized I had quite a bit of rhyming going on (a b a a a) and 5 lines. I could refine this into a limerick (a a b b a). However, my favorite part of this poem was actually the last two lines and they needed to stay together to make sense, so a (a a) rhyme. From here, I was left with a couplet. I’d have to pair up more than one couplet to reach the 33 word goal and based on my studies, the overuse of couplets could lose it’s effectiveness.

So in the end, I decided, “Screw this! I’ll do my own thing.” So I went with (a b a b a a) and attempted iambic lines to help with the rhythm of my poem. I know I didn’t correctly do the iambs since the last syllable of the line is unaccented and the first is also unaccented. It’s not perfect, but I am happy at my attempt. Most of all, I’m pretty proud that I kept to 7 syllables in each of my 5 lines 🙂

Trifextra: Week Forty-Eight.

17 thoughts on “Trif-EXTRA Week 48: Exorcise A Demon

  1. first, the poem was good…Great work.

    I believe in Karma, I believe that all the good or BAD you put in the world, into other hearts etc is going to come back to you. Like you I have moments , just moments of wanting to WRONG someone they way they wronged me..but sometimes I think that living in their decisions is the best punishment.

    you know how they say that sometimes that people who have to live with what they did are punished more than prison etc..I believe that. Their own demons , them knowing what they did (even if they don’t admit it to you..to give you the closure) is something they can’t escape. (At least that’s the way I hope it works 😉

    nice to meet you and your blog.

    • Thank you for dropping by! I am a true believer in Karma as well! It’s what really helps me from holding back! I don’t think everyone feels remorse for the things they’ve done because most of them don’t think they’ve done ANYTHING wrong at all. In the end, I know it’s not up to me to judge them so I try to stay clear of it… but boy, is it hard!

  2. Wow! Love the poem and your first draft was great too! You overwhelmed me with your knowledge of the technical aspects of poetry. I think I slept through that semester in high school, which I now regret. But, not to justify my own shortcomings, sometimes a little mess is ok, if it comes from that special place where your mind and heart pours out. Right?

    • Thank you 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the poem! I only knew the technical aspects because I had just looked it up online haha I definitely did not pull any of that from memory! And yes, nothing wrong with a little mess, I was just trying to exercise some of the technical poetry skills 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Ah,what a pleasure to read this-the words melted like butter on my lips!Wish I could write so well-that too ,a first draft!I think I see my lil demon trying to raise it’s squashed head,lol!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Un/Faithful « Thump Thump Goes My Heart

Leave a Reply

