Daily Prompt: Un/Faithful

Tell us about the role that faith plays in your life — or doesn’t.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/daily-prompt-unfaithful/

You know those people who goes around and feel its their duty to force their religious views on you? Ya, that’s not me. I understand that they’re only trying to “save” me and feel they are right of heart when they won’t let me walk away with a simple, “No thanks, I’m not interested.” It’s always funny when I hear them call out, “But I’m not trying to sell you anything!” Like hell you aren’t.

Before I sound heartless and cynical to those die hard Jesus lovers, let me clarify. I don’t think your views or beliefs are wrong. I just don’t like being bothered and nothing irks me more than someone getting pushy with their views when I didn’t ask to hear about them. If I had came to you with questions and wanting to lean, then by all means — preach to me. If not, then don’t?

I feel that everyone has the right to believe in whatever and whomever they want. I might not agree and I may not like it, but I will respect it. Who is to say my way is the right way and your way is the wrong way?

I don’t know what I am. I was raised Catholic but have had no real education regarding the Catholic ways. As a kid, all I remember is going to church with my mom and sitting in the pews. Sometimes we would have to kneel and sometimes we would have to stand. We would listen to bible stories told by the priest and then follow her to the front where she ate the circular white “bread ” (didn’t look like bread to me, but she told me it was) and took a sip of wine. I remember her praying some more after mass while kneeling in front of a stand filled with candles — some lit, some not. She’d light one and pray. She would put money in the box attached to it and then we’d leave.

So can I claim myself as a Catholic? I was once told from a friend that was Southern Baptist that it was blasphemy for me to claim a religion when I didn’t practice.

I don’t deny the existence of God. I believe God to be our creator. This is as far as my religious beliefs goes. I can’t deny the existence of a creator. Everything else, I’m just not so sure.

To say I’m unfaithful seems harsh. I believe that everything happens for a reason and that my troubles and obstacles are placed there for me to overcome and grow as a person. I have faith that where ever I am in life, that its exactly where I need to be.

I don’t know if this makes me unfaithful or faithful. Whichever it is, I am happy with where I am in life; even with the demons inside of me (reference from Trifextra Challenge 48).

Daily Prompt: Un/Faithful

Leave a Reply

