Daily Prompt: That Stings!

Franz Kafka said, “we ought to read only books that bite and sting us.” What’s the last thing you read that bit and stung you?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/28/daily-prompt-stings/

It is to my greatest displeasure and embarrassment to share that I don’t actually read that much. In the last five years the only books I’ve read are as follows:

  1. Twilight – Stephenie Meyer
  2. New Moon – Stephenie Meyer
  3. Eclipse – Stephenie Meyer
  4. Breaking Dawn – Stephenie Meyer
  5. The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
  6. Something Borrowed – Emily Giffin
  7. Something Blue – Emily Giffin
  8. Invitation to Ruin – Bronwen Evans
  9. The Blood That Bonds – Christopher Buecheler
  10. Jason and Me – Jenna Anderson

And books the I didn’t/haven’t quite finish:

  1. Red Pyramid – Rick Riordan (read the sample and a few chapters more)
  2. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – Stieg Larsson (read the sample)
  3. Rich Dad Poor Dad – Robert T. Kiyosaki (got bored because it started to get redundant)
  4. The War of Art – Steven Pressfield (currently reading)

The reason I listed all the books I’ve read was so I can choose which of these bit and stung me. It is much easier to have a list to work off of than pulling straight from my chaotic and scattered memory!

All of the 10 books I read had a bite and sting to it. I laughed, I cried, I worried, and I prayed in every one of them for one reason or another. The first two in my list of unfinished books also did the same for me with what little I had read. The War of Art, though I haven’t finished it, was the main reason why I started to write consistently again. I still need to finish that book, but I wasn’t going to let it get in the way of my writing time — writing first, reading second.

Of all of these works, I would have to say The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger is the winner. The story and emotions I experienced while reading this book left a deep impression on me. The details and character developments were very intricate, it felt like the author left no stone un-turned. Questions I had and situations I thought could happen were all addressed one way or another somewhere in the novel. When I cried, I flooded the room. When I laughed, I made the house shake. This novel evoked these type of emotions for me and so, this one will have to take the prize for biting and stinging!

(Image via Amazon)

Daily Prompt: That Stings!

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: That Stings!

  1. The last book I read to the end was ‘The Road’ Cormac McCarthy….highly acclaimed and recommended by a friend..gripping but terrifying…It confirmed all of my worst fears of human nature…with a glimmer of hope at the end?

    • I actually had to push myself to read it, too! I had read it a few weeks before the movie was suppose to release and that tiny little voice on my head kept telling me, “Just wait til the movie comes out,” even though I know the movie rendition is never as good as the book! Glad you had the chance to read the book 🙂

  2. I will have to check this book out, good job on the list and why you laid it out. It’s does seem to work better when it’s in front of you!

Leave a Reply

