Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone

Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/daily-prompt-statue/

Not too long ago I was thinking about how I would pose for a photo that would be used to promote me. I could go with the business-as-usual photo where I’m in a suit, sitting straight up, my profile towards the camera, and slight smile, or I could get really crazy and do a quarter turn away from the camera instead. Actually, they both sound dull and boring! If I want to be represented, I want it to be fun and exciting. I want people to look at it and reach all sorts of conclusions about me.
I thought long and hard about my interests, hobbies, skills, and talents. I came up with this — I’ll be in my yoga outfit, a black sports bra and knee high yoga pants, with my coin hip scarf (for bellly dancing) around my waist. I will do the Eagle pose (picture below) with the middle part of a pen comfortable resting on my lips. I would have to be careful not to bite down on; I don’t want to show any sign of struggle. There will be a camera strap going diagonally across my body and the camera resting comfortably on my hip.
I know, there’s a lot going on in this picture! I can only imagine what my audience is thinking once they see it. They will either think I’m mad or a pure genius! Ok, maybe neither. What I’m hoping to accomplish with this photo is to show my strength and flexibility (both mentally and physically), along with my interests in yoga, writing, photography, and belly dancing.
So, if I was to have a personal sculptor carve me something that would present the last year of my life, I would have them sculpt this image of me. It basically sums up what I’ve been doing the past year and I think it’ll make for a really cool sculpture!

yoga(Image via Bikram Yoga)

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone

Leave a Reply

