Trifecta Week 57: Wonder

Trifecta: Week Fifty-Seven: Wonder

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone!! Please join us.

WONDER (noun)

1
a : a cause of astonishment or admiration : marvel <it’s a wonder you weren’t killed> <the pyramid is a wonder to behold>
b : miracle
2
: the quality of exciting amazed admiration
3
a : rapt attention or astonishment at something awesomely mysterious or new to one’s experience
b : a feeling of doubt or uncertainty

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/wonder

*thump thump*
*thump thump*
*thump thump thump*
I feel my heart pounding on my chest walls. It’s aching.
*thump thump*
The ground pounds on the sole of my feet.
*thump thump thump*
The floor rumbles in anger some more.
My mind fills with wonder. Where am I? What is going on? What am I feeling — Animosity? Sadness? Anxiety?
The world around me slowly reveals itself as the haze gradually clears and my senses regain consciousness.
Multi-color lights dance on top of my head. Cocooned shaped creatures around me wiggle in unison to the beating of my heart, no, to the beating of the floor.
Wrong again.
They are ebbing to the beat of the drums vibrating vigorously on the floor; to the barrage of musical notes reverberating into the Earth.
They roar in a frenzy of excitement.
My vision becomes clearer as the moist air greets my skin and the smell of warm bodies surround me. They’re people, not cocoons!
*thump thump*
My body sways to the undulating beats. “Relax. Give into the music.”
Exhilaration, excitement, elated — these are the emotions I am allowing myself to feel.
Don’t over think it; don’t worry about it. For tonight, the pain, the sorrow, the regret… be liberated from it.
Be Free.
6 thoughts on “Trifecta Week 57: Wonder

    • Thank you for taking the time to read my piece! I was worried that adding the bit of “Don’t over think it; don’t worry about it. For tonight, the pain, the sorrow, the regret” was going to ruin the positive ending I was hoping for!

Leave a Reply

