Daily Prompt: Gimme

Was there a special gift or toy you wanted as a child but never received? What was it?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/12/26/daily-prompt-gimme/

There’s no better way to start your day the day after Christmas than to go to work. Wait! I know something BETTER! Let’s think about all the toys I’ve wanted as a child but never got! That would totally make my day!
Ok, sarcasm aside, this is actually going to be fun. Haha, I was once told the best way to get over something is to write about it, make peace with it, then let it go. There’s no better time for healing than the day after Christmas, amirite?
I’ve always wanted a Lite-Brite and year after year I’d put it on my wishlist but Santa never delivered! I think it came to a point where I decided, “I don’t want it anymore. I’m a big kid now and big kids don’t play with Lite-Brites. I mean, what’s so great about a Lite-Brite anyways, right?!” No matter how many reasons I could think up I knew I was kidding myself. It’s too bright, I’ll lose all the little pieces, the box is stupid, they didn’t spell light right, they didn’t spell bright right either — only those who are desperate would come up with reasons such as these and I was desperate! Creating pixel artwork that lights up??? Really? It doesn’t get any better than that!
Actually, now that I think about it, I might have received a Lite-Brite at one point in time when I was younger, but forgot about it because the Lite-Brite wasn’t that great — for the reasons I listed above.
Disclaimer: I’m pretty sure the previous line was my subconscious making up memories to coupe with never receiving a Lite-Brite as a child.
litebritevintage-587x450

(Image found on Hello Giggles LLC)

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Gimme

Leave a Reply

