Daily Prompt: Quote Me

tumblr_mg50r0hNix1rohhgjo1_500

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/daily-prompt-quote/

“Just remember, the sweet is never as sweet without the sour.”
- Vanilla Sky (Quote via dailySpark)

I looked this quote up to make sure I haven’t been saying it wrong all these years. I have been saying it wrong, but the meaning was still there. I usually tell people, “The sweet isn’t as sweet without the sour,” and then just to reiterate it I’ll saying, “You can’t have the good without the bad and you can’t appreciate the good if you haven’t experienced the bad.”

This quote moves me because it was the moment when I realized that my shortcomings, my mishaps, the “bad luck” I had been experiencing was all part of some master plan for an AMAZING future for me. It had to be, right? It gave me hope and in many ways changed my life around. It was easier not to dwell on the bad because I believed there was good around the corner. When my outlook was more positive, I started to realize, “Things are only as you perceive them.” I don’t know if this was a quote I picked up or my own rendition, but it’s something I use and say often to those who seem to be in a “rut”. Things are only as bad as you make them out to be. Everything is all in the way you perceive them. If you get into an accident and your car was totaled, you can be upset that you no longer have a working vehicle, or be grateful that you walked away alive. I guess it just goes back to, “Is the glass half full or half empty?” They’re all one in the same, right?

I’m not a seasoned “life” player (I’m not an elderly filled with knowledge and truths) but looking back on my life and events, I know that the hardships I went through are the most memorable. When I think back on how much I’ve struggled to be where I am, I feel proud that I was able to successfully conquer and endure them. It truly does build character, make you a more interesting person, and give you the ability to connect with others who can benefit from your experience or with people who has been through the same experience!

Another quote that I live by but don’t always say is from the movie The Mexican.

“If two people love each other, but they just can’t seem to get it together, when do you get to that point of enough is enough? Never.” – The Mexican (Quote via IMDB)

Sometimes when I get really frustrated with my husband (now and before we were married) or even when I’m working on an assignment that has gotten too difficult, I always think about this quote. Many times it helps me calm down and think a little more logically about the situation and assess possible solutions to the problem. It also really helps me figure out what projects, assignments, or people are worth keeping in my life. Haha, if I give up, then it means I’ve had enough which in turns meant it didn’t mean enough to me. It usually helps gives me closure on my decision to end certain relationships and/or projects!

Daily Prompt: Quote Me.

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Quote Me

  1. Pingback: etvthroughinternet.com: The Leading ETV Through Internet Site on the Net

Leave a Reply

